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THE DEPARTMENT OF LIQUOR LICENSES AND CONTROL 

   SPECIAL EVENT PLANNING GUIDE 
 

This special event planning guide will help you comply with Arizona’s liquor laws 

during your special event. 
 

If you will furnish, sell or serve liquor at your special event, be sure to apply for the 
required liquor license(s) 60 days in advance of the event date.  The liquor 

licensing process includes a special event license issued by the state and, in many 
cases, a second license required by the city or town where your event will take 

place.   
 

The most common special event applications issued by the state are: 

1) Special Event Liquor License; and 
2) Temporary Extension of Premises Permit.   

To determine which application you need, match your circumstances with the 
following criteria: 

 
Special Event Liquor License   Temporary Extension of Premises 

                                    Permit 
a) you are one of the following   a) your event will be held at an   

    types of organization:            liquor licensed establishment,  
      charitable, civic, religious, 

      fraternal, political party,    b) you wish to temporarily extend the 
      ballot measure or            area of where liquor is served, beyond       

      campaign committee        the boundaries described on the active 
            liquor license on file with the  

b) you have a non-profit/I.R.S. Tax   Department. 

    Exempt Number, 
 

c) your guests will be asked or required to  

    pay, donate, or exchange money during 
    the course of the event (includes fees for 

    admission, auction, raffle, food, etc.),      
 

d) you are selling, serving, or furnishing 
    liquor you have purchased from 

    someone other than the liquor licensed 
    venue where your event will be held,           
 

e) you require a temporary liquor 

    license lasting 10 days or less 
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The State Department of Liquor Licenses and Control  

Licensing Time-frames 
 

License Type Legal Authority Administrative 
Completeness 

Review 
Time-frame 

Substantive 
Review 

Time-frame 

Overall 
Time-

frame 

Cost 

Extension of 

Premises/Patio 
Permit 

A.A.C. 

R19-1-311 

10 Days 20 Days 30 Days N/A 

Special Event A.R.S. § 4-

203.02(B) 

10 Days 20 Days 30 Days $25 per 

day 

To apply for a Special Event Liquor License 

If your event matches the criteria for a Special Event Liquor License, follow this 
process: 

    1) Download a special event application, by clicking on this link: 
        http://www.azliquor.gov/forms/pdf/SPECIALEVENT.pdf 

Or pick up your special event application: 

       Department of Liquor Licenses & Control 
       Licensing Division 

       800 W. Washington St., 5th Floor 
       Phoenix, Arizona 85007 

       602-542-5141 

Please check our Licensing Division’s hours of operation prior to visiting our 

offices.  Click on this link for current office hours: 
http://www.azliquor.gov/UserFiles/File/HoursLocation.doc 

2) Time is critical, so complete the application early and follow all instructions for 

the state and the city, town or county where your event will take place – in 

most cases you will need two licenses; one license issued by the state 
and a second license issued by the city, town or county.  Some cities, 

towns and counties may require up to 60 days advance notice of the 
event. The Department of Liquor Licenses and Control will process 

approximately 1,350 special event liquor licenses this year.  Please help us help 
you by planning as far in advance as possible.    

 
3) Apply for the licensing required by the city, town or county, where the special 

event will take place.  
 

4) Immediately, upon approval of both state and city, town or county applications, 
follow instructions to receive your licenses. 

Cost for a state-issued special event license: $25 per day 
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To apply for a Temporary Extension of Premises Permit  

If your special event will be held using an active Arizona liquor license and you wish to 
temporarily extend the area where alcohol is served beyond the boundaries described 

in the liquor license on file with the Department, follow this process: 

1) Pick up an application for a Temporary Extension of Premises Permit from the 
state Department of Liquor Licenses and Control: 

 
Department of Liquor Licenses & Control 

Licensing Division 
800 W. Washington St., 5th Floor 

Phoenix, Arizona 85007 

602-542-5141 

Please check our Licensing Division’s hours of operation prior to visiting our 
offices.  Click on this link for current office hours: 

http://www.azliquor.gov/UserFiles/File/HoursLocation.doc 

2) Download an application for the Temporary Extension of Premises Permit: 

http://www.azliquor.gov/UserFiles/File/Extension%20of%20Premises3.pdf 
 

3) Time is critical, so complete the application early and follow all instructions for 
the state and the city, town or county where your event will take place – in 

most cases you will need two licenses; one license issued by the state 
and a second license issued by the city, town or county.  Some cities, 

towns and counties may require up to 60 days advance notice of event. 
The Department of Liquor Licenses and Control will process approximately 1,350 

special event liquor licenses this year.  Please help us help you by planning as far 
in advance as possible.    

 
4) Apply for the licensing required by the city, town or county, where the special 

event is to take place.  
 

5) Immediately, upon approval of both state and city, town or county applications, 

follow instructions to receive your licenses. 

There is no cost for a Temporary Extension of Premises Permit. 
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The Department of Liquor Licenses and Control requires anyone responsible for 

hosting a special event, event volunteers and staff to: 
1) be familiar with Title 4 (Arizona liquor laws), 

2) possess the means and ability to implement Title 4 knowledge and practices at 
your event, and 

3) possess the ability to locate and use resources available to keep knowledge and 
practices of Title 4 current. 

 
The more complex and critical areas of Title 4 knowledge are:   

1) underage drinking 
2) over service 
3) documentation (acts of violence, ID logs, refusal of service, etc.) 
4) acts of violence   

Arizona statutes and regulations referencing special events are:  
     A.R.S. §4-101.21 

     A.R.S. §4-203.02, .03 
     A.R.S. §4-207(B)2 

     A.R.S. §4-210(M) 
     A.R.S. §4-243.5, (B)1 

     A.R.S. §4-244,  
     A.R.S. §4-261;  

     R19-1-309 

Arizona statutes and regulation referencing temporary extension of premises: 

      A.R.S. §4-205.02 
      A.R.S. §4-207.01 

      A.R.S. §4-244.20, .26, .31 
      R-19-1-311 

Our Frequently Asked Questions are very helpful: 

http://www.azliquor.gov/FAQ.asp 
 

This link will take you to the “forms” section of our website: 

http://www.azliquor.gov/forms/default.asp 
 

For Title 4 (Arizona liquor laws) visit: 
http://www.azliquor.gov/laws.asp 

http://www.azsos.gov/public_services/Title_19/19-01.htm 
 

For licensing questions call: 602-542-5141 
 


