City of Peoria Recovery Plan: Phase One begins May 16th. View COVID-19 Updates and Resources.

City Parks to Close Early 6/1-6/7 due to Governor's Statewide Curfew. Read more information.


Mayor and Council 2020

Find Your Council District and Councilperson

It's easy to locate your Council District using our interactive Council District Map! Enter your street address to locate your council district.

About the Mayor

About Peoria City Council

Legislative authority is vested in a six-member council and the mayor. In 1989, the City Charter was amended to change the method of electing the councilmembers from an at-large system to a district system. Peoria's six council districts and council members are:

The council members are elected for four-year terms on a staggered basis. The mayor is elected at-large for a four-year term, which was an amendment to the City Charter approved by voters on March 11, 1997.

Within the mayor and city council website you can find information on each of the city of Peoria's districts. You can also find information on each city of Peoria district councilmember, including biography, district map, newsletter and contact information. Information is also available for the mayor and mayor's office.


Judy Lampert
Administrative Assistant II