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Serving with: Strength, Honor, and Compassion 

PURPOSE: 

To outline the policy and procedures to be followed by on-duty Peoria personnel in the 
event that a parent or agent of a parent leaves a newborn infant with on-duty 
firefighters. 
 
History 
In August of 2001 Arizona Revised Statutes, Section 1, Title 13, Chapter 36 was 
amended by adding section 13-3623.01. This section reads: 

 A person is not guilty of abuse of a child pursuant to Section 13-3623 Subsection 
B, for leaving a newborn infant if the person leaves the newborn infant unharmed 
and with a Safe Haven Provider. 

 If a parent or agent of the parent voluntarily delivers the parent’s child to a Safe 
haven Provider, the Safe Haven Provider shall take custody of the child if both of 
the following are true: 

o The parent did not express intent to return for the child 
o The Safe Haven Provider believes that the child is a newborn infant. 

 The Safe haven Provider shall report receipt of the newborn infant to Child 
Protective Services (CPS) as soon as practicable after taking custody of the 
newborn infant. 

 A parent or agent of the parent who leaves a newborn infant with a Safe Haven 
Provider may remain anonymous, and the Safe Haven Provider shall not require 
the parent or agent to answer any questions 

 A safe Haven Provider who receives a newborn infant pursuant to this section is 
not liable for any civil damages for any act or omission by the Safe Haven 
Provider in maintaining custody of the newborn infant, if the Safe haven Provider 
acts in good faith without gross negligence. 

 
Definitions 

A newborn infant is an infant who is seventy-two hours old or younger. 
 
Safe haven Provider means: a firefighter who is on-duty, an Emergency Medical 
Technician who is on-duty, a staff member at a health care institution that is classified 
by the Department of Health Services as a hospital or outpatient treatment center. 
 
POLICY 
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It is the policy of the Peoria Fire-Medical Department to act in accordance with Arizona 
State law. As a result, the Peoria Fire-Medical Department will accept, appropriately 
treat and transport to an appropriate medical facility any newborn infant dropped off to 
any on-duty Peoria Fire-Medical Department personnel, in accordance with A.R.S. 13-
3623.01. 
 
The parent or agent of the parent dropping off the newborn infant will be offered 
information regarding the Safe haven Law and referral services. 
 
Child Protective Services will be notified anytime a newborn infant is delivered to on-
duty Peoria Fire-Medical Department personnel. 
 
PROCEDURE 

 If a parent or agent of the parent approaches an on-duty firefighter  
 below the rank of Captain for the purposes of delivering a Newborn Infant to a 

Safe Haven Provider, that firefighter/engineer should immediately notify their on-
duty shift Captain. 

 The shift Captain should then notify Alarm, place his unit ON SCENE   
 of an EMS call, have Rescue/Ambulance respond, and determine the following: 

o Determine that the parent or agent of the parent does NOT intend to 
return for the child. 

o Determine if the Newborn Infant is 72 hours old or younger. 
o Determine that the Newborn Infant is unharmed. 

 If the parent does NOT intend to return for the child, the child is reasonably 
believed to be 72 hours old or younger, and there are no apparent signs of child 
abuse, the Newborn Infant should be provided appropriate medical care and 
transported to the closest appropriate medical facility and Child Protective 
Services should be notified. Inform CPS  which medical facility you are 
transporting to. 

 CPS can be reached at 602-530-1800 or 1-888-767-2445. 
 The shift Captain is responsible for offering the parent or agent of the parent 

information regarding the Safe Haven Law and information on referral 
organizations at some point during the incident. An Crisis Response (CR) unit 
may be special requested for counseling if the parent agrees to it. Do not 
demand it. Also, Car 1927 (Peoria Fire-Medical Department Chaplain) or an on-
duty Chaplain can be special requested. If the parent is giving up their baby due 
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to domestic violence, CONTACT may be reached at 800-799-7739. Value 
Options Counseling and Rehab can be reached at 602-222-9494 or 800-631-
1314. Although one or more of the above options may be offered, the parent or 
agent of the parent is not legally obligated to receive the above services. 

 The Safe Haven Provider shall not require the parent or agent to answer any 
questions and the parent or agent can remain anonymous by law. However, this 
does not mean that the Safe Haven Provider cannot ask questions. It simply 
means that the parent is not required to answer them. If possible, the Safe Haven 
Provider, or crew treating the Newborn Infant, should ask the parent or agent 
questions that may have a bearing on the Newborn Infant’s medical treatment. 
The importance of acquiring this information should be relayed to the parent or 
agent. The EMT or CEP treating the Newborn Infant should ask all relevant 
medical questions. If the parent or agent makes it clear that they will not answer 
any questions, questioning should be discontinued. 

 The on-duty shift Captain should notify his shift Battalion Chief during or following 
the incident. In addition to the proper completion of EMS run report 
documentation, an Exception Report will be completed by the Captain. 

 In the event that the child is NOT reasonably believed to be a Newborn Infant or 
if the Newborn Infant is found to be harmed upon medical examination, the 
Peoria Police Department should be notified. The Safe Haven Provider may still 
accept the child, but the parents or agents of the parent are not covered under 
the Safe Haven for Newborns Law under these conditions and may be 
prosecuted by Arizona State Law. CPS should still be notified under these 
circumstances and the child will still have to be medically evaluated, treated, and 
transported. 

 In arranging for transportation to a medical facility, the Newborn Infant will have 
to be restrained appropriately in a Child Protective Restraint System-a car seat. 
Each Peoria Fire-Medical Department fire station is equipped with a Newborn 
Car Seat. Firefighters should be familiar with their location and operation. If there 
are questions concerning the car seat or its proper installation, questions should 
be directed to the Fire Department Child Restraint System Technicians. 

 
 

Approved:   01/05/2015 

  Bobby Ruiz, Fire Chief Date 

 


